Cameroon Overview

Cameroon is located in central and western Africa, bordering Nigeria, Chad, the Central African Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon and Congo-Brazzaville.

Capital: Yaoundé
Biggest city: Douala
State: republic
Language: English, French
Religion: indigenous religions, Christianity, Islam
Surface: 475 440 km²
Population: 21.5 million (2013)
Population density: 40 residents per km²
Life expectancy: 54 years
Illiteracy: 32%
Currency: CFA franc (XAF)
1 CFA franc = 0.01 kr
GDP per capita: $ 2,200 (2010)
Time difference: +0 hours
Electricity: 110/220 V AC 50Hz
National Day: May 20
Country area code: 237
2-Letter country abbreviation: CM (See more abbreviations on Abbreviationfinder)
Business: agriculture 74.4%, industry and transport 11.4%, service sector 14.2%
Climate: tropical in the south and along the coast, steppe in the north

Cameroon flag

Cameroon’s coastline is located on the Gulf of Bonny, part of the Gulf of Guinea and the Atlantic Ocean. The country is called “Africa in Miniature” for its geological and cultural variety. Natural phenomena include beaches, deserts, mountains, rainforests and savannas. Cameroon has over 200 different ethnic and linguistic groups. The country is well known for its domestic music styles, especially makossa and bikutsi, and for its successful national football team. English and French are the official languages.

Cameroon became a German colony in 1884. After the First World War, the territory was divided between France and Great Britain as an NF mandate. The Union des Populations du Cameroun party advocated independence but was banned in the 1950s. It waged war against French and Cameroonian forces until 1971. In 1960, French Cameroon became independent as the Republic of Cameroon under President Ahmadou Ahidjo. The southern part of British Cameroon merged with it in 1961 to form the Federal Republic of Cameroon. The country changed its name to the United Republic of Cameroon in 1972 and the Republic of Cameroon in 1984.


The following objects in Cameroon are listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
The year in which the item was added to the list is indicated in parentheses.

  • Djareservatet (1987)
  • Rainforest Sangha Trinational (2012)


Electricity and electrical outlets in Cameroon

Voltage: 220 V

Frequency: 50 Hz

Type of plug: C, E

Need an adapter: No, you do not need an adapter.


Weather in Yaoundé

Climate Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Christmas Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature °C 23 24 24 24 23 22 22 22 22 22 23 23
Rain (mm) 25 53 141 186 212 160 67 81 224 292 115 26

Cameroon 2


Douala is a port city in western Cameroon. It is Cameroon’s most important business center and the country’s largest city with 1.9 million residents (2007).

The port of Douala is the largest in Cameroon and one of the most important in Central Africa. Douala is located at the mouth of the Wouri River in the Atlantic. The city spreads out on both sides of the river and there is only one bridge to get from one side to the other.


According to Countryaah, Yaoundé is the capital of Cameroon and has 1.6 million residents (2007). The city is the country’s second largest city after Douala. It was founded in 1888 as a German military base and center for ivory trade. The city was occupied by Belgian forces during the First World War and after the war Yaoundé first became the capital of French Cameroon, and since 1960 of independent Cameroon.

You may also like...