World Single Distance Speed Skating Championships 2015

WORLD CUP skating distance 2015 will be held from 12 to 15 February 2015 in Heerenveen. Where in previous editions of the tournament was the final round of the season, the tournament will be held in 2015, in the middle of the season. World Single Distance CHAMPIONSHIPS at the Thialf means first the last big tournament for the Netherlands.In 2015-2016, there are no major events scheduled in the Thialf Stadium. The 10 kilometers for men is scheduled for Thursday, February 12, 2015, making it to the opening match in terms of the men’s tournament.

Världssingel Distance Championships 2015

The 10 km distance from WORLD CUP 2015 is scheduled for Thursday, February 12, 2015. In addition to the 10 km for men, this day is also the 3000 m for women in the program. The first schaatsdag World Single Distance Championships 2015 will start at 18:00

Drawing of lots

The draw for the 10 km will be announced on Wednesday, February 11.

Dutch participants

Since the World Single Distance Championships 2015, there are only two Dutch men are participating in the 10 km at the World Single Distance CHAMPIONSHIPS. Sven Kramer and Jorrit Bergsma during National Championships Allround managed to secure a ticket for the match. Interestingly, stayer Bob de Jong managed to get a ticket. De Jong then took the first World Cup distance to all editions of the 10 km at the World Single Distance CHAMPIONSHIPS, and was part of the exception of 2007, each edition of the stage. De Jong was the world champion in 1999, 2003, 2005, 2011, and 2012. This is the true King Jong at 10 km, because no additional champion in the 10 km world. Despite the young often overshadowed by other weapons as Sven Kramer.


The Dutch skater Sven Kramer and Jorrit Bergsma his favorite for the Championship title in 10 km. Kramer knows not sure if he will take part in the World Cup. Kramer has stated that he finds it annoying that the 10 km ridden for 5,000 m and team pursuit. Kramer arrives at the last moment to decide whether he does or does not take part in the 10 km, foreign competition for the stage to wait for, among other things:

  • Belgian Bart Swings
  • Norwegian Sverre Lunde Pedersen
  • the Korean Seung-Hoon Lee
  • The Russian Alexandr Rumjantsev

Update 12-2
Kramer decided to opt out of 10 km. Erik Jan Kooiman takes place in.

Winner 10 kilometers at the World Single Distance CHAMPIONSHIPS of all time

The table below shows all the World 10 km since the introduction of the World Single Distance CHAMPIONSHIPS in 1996. It is noteworthy that there have only been Dutch world champion so far at this distance. After the 1997-1998 Speedskating season it was decided to organize a world Single Distance Championships in years in the Winter Olympics. This means that in 2002, 2006, 2010, and 2,014 no winner designated.