Australian Open Tennis Tournament Winners

Australian Open is traditionally the first Grand Slam tennis tournament of the year. This tournament was first organized in 1905.


From 1905 until 1926 was called the event “Championship Australasia. The name ‘Australasia’ used to be visited more often in the sports world for the partnership between Australia and New Zealand. For example, they made repeatedly by joint teams participated in the Olympics and the Davis Cup.

Name Changes

From 1927 tennis tournament was not called “the championship of Australasia”, but “the championship in Australia. In 1969 the name was changed again to the tournament. Since then, this event is called” Australian Open “.


Until 1952 the tournament was played in many different cities in Australia and New Zealand. In 1952, Melbourne, however, the fixed location of this tournament. Today finds the Australian Open still going on in the city. From 1952 to 1987 the tournament was played
on a tennis court in the district Melbournse Kooyong. In 1988, the tournament moved to another location in Melbourne, where an ultra modern new tennis was built. At the time, called the new tennis “Flinders Park. In 1996, the name of this park was changed to Melbourne Park.


In the old Kooyong tennis at the Australian Open was played on grass. Jobs in Flinders Park had originally subsoil ReboundAce. In 2008 the Foundation was replaced with Plexicushion.

Rod Laver Arena

The most famous arena in Melbourne Park’s Rod Laver Arena. This stadium is named after the legendary Australian tennis player Rod Laver, who won a total of 11 Grand Slam. Rod Laver Arena has a retractable roof, so that it can also be played in bad weather. There may be almost fifteen thousand spectators in the stadium.

Most Successful

The most successful player in the history of the Australian Open, Australian Adrian Quist. He won a total of thirteen titles. Only in the form of singles titles Roy Emerson was the most successful player. The Australian won six titles in singles. He won the tournament in 1961, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966 and 1967.
In the women’s Australian Margaret Court’s most successful player in the history of the Australian Open. They won a total of 21 titles.

Youngest And Oldest

The youngest winner of a title at the Australian Open was Mirjana Lucic. When she won the women’s doubles in 1998, she was only 15 years old. The oldest winner of a title at the Australian Open was Horace Rice. In 1923, when he won the mixed doubles, he was already 52 years old.